August 2013:
Musashi performed by Maria Harman, flute, at the National Flute Association conference in New Orleans.

April 2013:
Musashi performed by Maria Harman, flute, at the 2013 SEAMUS conference at McNally Smith College.

March/April 2013:
Introit performed by Joseph Mesh, trumpet; Memorial University of Newfoundland. (tentative)

March 14, 2013:
water meditation on Etenraku performed by Cheryl Melfi, clarinet, at Mary Washington University in Fredericksburg, VA.

March 10, 2013:
Introit performed by Mitchell Cooper, trumpet; California State University, Northridge.

February 24, 2013:
water meditation on Etenraku performed by Julia Cory, cello, as part of the Sunday Night Multimedia Series at Montana State University.

November 14, 2012:
Introit, performed by Samuel Wells in Muncie, IN.

July 27, 2012:
Maria Harman, flute, and Teri Ann Quinn, clarinet, perform Musashi and Hiram as part of the Kc Fringe Festival's Experimental Music Showcase. This is Musashi's world premiere and Hiram's American premiere (w/ video).

July 11, 2012:
Hiram, complete with video, receives its world premiere performance by Cheryl Melfi at the Thailand International Composer's Festival.

direct links to
Concert Music or Soundtracks


Demo reel for richard's scores is now available on Vimeo.

Quaerere Sententias I is now all online in HD:
1. Introit - for trumpet, electronics, and video
2. Hiram - for clarinet, electronics, and video
3. Musashi - for flute, electronics, and video

Richard's scores for a short film by Calvin Walker entitled "The Most Beautiful Flower Blooms in Winter," and a short film by directors Julian Garcia and Jack Kygnon entitled "Alone Part II" are now available.

Excerpts from richard's score to feature length documentary Finding Thin are now available.

Cheryl Melfi's performance of Hiram at the Thailand International Composer's Festival is now available on Youtube.




richard johnson, composer

richard johnson is a multimedia artist and composer whose interest in music was piqued during a childhood heavily impacted by film.  Equal parts Kurosawa and Spielberg combined to create his ongoing interest in culture and history, the music of Takemitsu and Williams, and an obsession with mystery, adventure, and storytelling. This blend of interests is most clearly present in his set of pieces for soloists, electronics, and video entitled Quaerere Sententias.

Richard currently resides in Kalamazoo, Michigan, where he serves as Assistant Professor of Multimedia Arts Technology at Western Michigan University.